Anthony McCarten

Anthony is a celebrated film-maker, novelist and playwright, who divides his time between New Zealand and London.

Anthony received early international success with his play Ladies Night. Translated into twelve languages it remains New Zealand’s most commercially successful play of all time, and in addition to eight national tours of Britain alone it continues play worldwide. In 2001 it won France’s premiere theatre award for comedy, the Moliere Prize. He has written eleven other widely produced plays.

Anthony is also a film director and producer whose first feature film, Via Satellite, which he adapted from his own award-winning stageplay, was invited to several film festivals including London, Cannes, Toronto, Melbourne, Hawaii and Seattle. His screenplay for is The Theory of Everything which he wrote and produced was nominated for an Academy Award. His film Darkest Hour has been nominated for the 2018 BAFTA Award for Best British Film.

His first novel, Spinners, (Picador) has been translated into six languages, and was voted one of the top ten novels of 2000 by readers of Esquire magazine. 

He has also adapted his second novel, The English Harem (Picador), as a feature film for ITV, which drew 7 million viewers in the UK when it aired in 2005. The novel went on to be a small-publishers bestseller in the UK in 2006. Novelist Timothy Mo named this book his Novel Of The Year.

He currently resides in the Cotswolds with his English partner and their two children.

Cyrill Ellis Where Are You? (Invitation To A Second Class Carriage) Depot 1984, Pigeon English The Depot 1986, Yellow Canary Mazurka Circa 1988, Ladies Night (with Stephen Sinclair) Mercury 1987, Weed Circa 1990, Via Satellite Circa 1991, Legless (with Stephen Sinclair) Court 1991, Let's Spend The Night Together Bats 1992, Hang On A Minute Mate Downstage 1993, Raging On: Ladies Night 2 (with Stephen Sinclair) Court 1993, F.I.L.T.H - Failed In London Try Hong Kong Circa 1995, Four Cities Los Angeles 1995

Worzel Gummidge Down Under Channel 4, UK, (4 eps) 1987, Pumpernickle TVNZ 1989, Rodney & Juliet prod Jane Gilbert 1990, Nocturne In A Room Wellington & Auckland Film Festivals 1992, Fluff Yilditz Film 1996, Via Satellite with Greg McGee, 1997, Spinners adapted from Anthony´s novel 1999, The English Harem (feature) 2003,  Bobby and Boris (feature, in devt.) 2005, Death of a Superhero (feature) 2011, Endurance (feature, in pre-production) 2006, The Theory of Everything (feature) 2014, Darkest Hour (feature) 2017.

A Modest Apocalypse, & Other Stories Godwit Press NZ, 1991 (Shortlisted for Heinemann Reid Fiction Award 1991. Judge: Angela Carter), Two Stories: Vital Writings. Ed. Andrew Mason, Godwit Press, NZ, 1991, Three Stories: appearing in Introductions - First Fictions Faber & Faber, London, 1992, Spinners . A novel.
(Picador, UK – April 1999, Random House, NZ, William Morrow, US (hardback) – March 1999, Harper Perennial, US (paper) - 2001, Garzanti, Italy, 2001, Via Verbis, Germany, 2001 Kinneret, Israel, 2002, De Kern, Baarn, Holland, 2001), The English Harem. A novel. (Random House, NZ, 2002, Picador, UK, March 2001, Olympia, Greece, 2003, Brilliance. A novel (Random House, NZ, 2003), Death of a Superhero. A novel.
(Random House, NZ, 2005, Alma Books, UK, 2005, Diogenes, Germany, 2005), In the Absence of Heroes (Random House, NZ, 2012).

1991 - Wellington Theatre Critic´s Award for ´Best Production´Via Satellite.

1991 - The Listener ´Best Playwright´ for Via Satellite.

Runner Up Heinemann-Reed Fiction Awards 1991 for A Modest Apocalypse

France’s Molière prize, the Meilleure Pièce Comique, 2001, for Ladies Night.

2013 New Zealand Post Book Awards finalist for Best Fiction for The Absence of Heroes

2015 Academy Award nominations for Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Picture for The Theory of Everything

2015 BAFTA awards for Best Film, Outstanding British Film and Best Adapted Screenplay for The Theory of Everything

2015 Producers Guild of America Award nomination - Best Theatrical Motion Picture for The Theory of Everything

2015 Golden Globes nomination for Best Motion Picture, Drama for The Theory of Everything